2021 Equestrian Victoria

Jumping Horse of the Year

About this award

The Jumping Victoria Horse of the Year award recognises the most consistent Victorian 1.40m+ jumping horse between 1 June 2020 and 31 May 2021.



  • Horse must be currently registered with Equestrian Victoria AND
  • Horse must hold a current licence AND
  • Have permanently resided in Victoria during the applicable period
  • Qualifying Victorian events must be at a minimum 1.40m
  • Qualifying interstate events must be a World Cup or State Title
  • Up to three wildcard shows (at the discretion of the committee) will also be considered

Qualifying events

  1. YVJC Grand Valley (30 November to  December)
  2. Sydney Summer Show (5 December to 6 December)
  3. PPSJC Summer Show (23 January to 24 January)
  4. World Wetlands Day (29 January to 31 January)
  5. Western Districts Championship (6 March to 8 March)
  6. Sale SJC Elms Show (13 to 14 March)
  7. NVSJC Grand Prix (13 March to 14 March)
  8. Dressage & Jumping with the Stars (17 March to 20 March)
  9. Sale and Districts Elms Autumn (27 March to 28 March)
  10. Jumping Victoria State Titles (29 April to 2 May)

If one or more of the above events main class does not meet the abovementioned eligible height then no points will be received from placing in the event.

Points Allocation

  • Points are awarded to the horse only (not the athlete/horse combination)
  • Scale of points will mirror, and be adapted from, the FEI Jumping World Cup Rules Article 656.2 and go to 16th place.
  • Points are allocated against the actual placing for the class and not the order of placing for Victorian horses at State and Interstate competitions.
  • Horses who are DNS, ELM, RET, DSQ receive a point score of 0 for that qualifying event regardless of placing.

Equality of Points

In the case of an equality of points in a qualifying round, points are added together and divided equally.

Fractions of 0.5 or more are rounded up; fractions of less than 0.5 are rounded down.

In the case of an equality of points overall after the conclusion of the last leg, the winner will be selected on a count back starting with the most wins down to the placings.

DNS = Did Not Start

ELM = Eliminated

RET = Retired

DSQ = Disqualified Show Horse

2020 EQUESTRIAN VICTORIA JUMPING horse of the year

  Michelle Terlato


SIRE: Quaprice Z

Rider: Russell Johnstone
Owner: McCann Pty Ltd